That’s Not My Unicorn – Fiona Watt & Rachel Wells

Okay, let’s be honest here – I’m not the target audience for this book. I’m not a toddler. I don’t have a toddler. I don’t have any toddler relatives within a few hundred miles. But…

These books are perfect. They are simple and tactile enough to fascinate the under 5s and also older children (usually on the autism spectrum) who respond well to sensory factors in books. Any small person you know will probably read their favourite ‘That’s Not My…’ book with you repeatedly. You’ll give up long before they do (but please do not say ‘that’s not my bunny, he hasn’t been put into a delicious pie with prunes and suet pastry’ out loud) and be begging to read Peppa Pig instead. They are my go-to gift for pre-schoolers because in the 49 volumes so far there is something for everyone – puppies, dragons, tractors, witches, pandas, dinosaurs – reasonably priced and, like all books, easy to wrap. The big question was what would Usborne Publishing choose for the 50th book in the series…?

9781474935975I think Usborne chose well with the Unicorn. Always popular with the smalls this will also appeal to adults (who still love them, in my case especially one particular specimen drawn by a friend who is known as Terence the Badass Unicorn. That’s the drawing not the friend…He draws under the name Monkey Ghost Presents – great drawings for grown-ups, not toddlers). And the book is just gorgeous. It sparkles. It has silver, rainbow-effect blocked board pages. This book has pizzazz. And we all deserve a bit of that in our lives – even if we are only 2.

Jane

P.S. I will be passing this book on to Bex’s little one. She’s 2. She already has pizzazz. I think she’ll love it….

Leave a Reply

