Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal – Jeanette Winterson

Why be Happy When You Could be Normal?When the tv adaptation of Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit was screened in 1990 it was compulsive viewing.  The story of a girl raised by strict Pentecostalists in a Lancashire town who struggles with her adoptive parents reaction to her sexuality had me gripped each week. It was both bleak and beautiful – it seemed, somehow, important.

I’m not sure if I realised at the time that Oranges was semi-autobiographical – I think I was too busy being thrilled by the wonderful Charlotte Coleman – but I know the heroine Jess’s life was vastly different from my own.  Oddly, when I started reading this book, Jeanette Winterson’s first volume of autobiography, one of the first things that struck me was a similarity between us – a love of books and stories. I wasn’t reading as a means of escaping a woman who makes all the wicked step-mothers of fairy tales seem like pussycats – I just liked the freedom of losing myself in a book – but I felt I could understand her joys even if her troubles were totally alien to me.

This book is a brutally honest but almost poetic account of a life. It has all the ingredients of a misery memoir – an overly strict and apparently uncaring mother, isolation from other children and nights spent in the coal bunker* – but they are stirred into a totally different dish. Mrs Winterson is a huge character both literally and figuratively but I think I see in her part of the source of her daughter’s career as a teller of stories. In fact she says ‘My Mother was in charge of language’ and, even if much of her language was from a rather hide-bound view of religion, there is a certain amount of vigour in all her pronouncements. I also finished this book feeling that, at the bottom of it all, Jeanette Winterson and her adopted mother did love each other. I guess the difficult relationship was part of making her the author she became – I wonder if she feels it was worth it in the end?

Jane

 

 

*I did spend some time in the coal bunker as a child – but we considered it a huge treat to be allowed to crawl in and get the coal from the very back when we were low on fuel between deliveries. We loved getting quite that filthy!
One thought on “Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal – Jeanette Winterson

  1. Pingback: Bradford Literature Festival 2017 | Jane & Bex book blog

Leave a Reply

