Grumpy Old Menopause by Carol E. Wyer

ImageI saw this listed as an e-proof yesterday, applied for it, recieved it and now I have finished reading it.  So you could say this was a book which was written with me in mind…..And don’t look away – even if this isn’t happening to you/going to happen to you it will be affecting your partner/mum/sister/check-out operator at Aldi.

This is a lighthearted look at the pains and perils of the menopause. The author knows what she is talking about – she is a comedian, teacher and physical trainer – and I for one found it pretty funny yet full of useful advice. In fact, it is all the sensible things you know you should do (eating healthily, doing exercise, keeping a good sense of humour), but served up in a light and palatable way.

I’ve highlighted a few choice phrases – my favourite is probably ‘my inner goddess is more of a Medusa’ although I tend to live by ‘I have found the cure for hot flushes. Chocolate! Does it work? I don’t know and as long as I have chocolate, I don’t care’. But all of us could probably do with remembering the words of Lauren Bacall (who certainly looked pretty good at whatever age) ‘I am not a has-been, I’m a will-be’.

The book isn’t out until December but I reckon it could save a few fireworks on Christmas day so look out for it…

Jane

5 thoughts on “Grumpy Old Menopause by Carol E. Wyer

  1. Jane, I am delighted you enjoyed the book and thank you very much indeed for your super review. It couldn’t have come on a better day as I have been shut in an office with my husband and pension advisers all day. I was ready to stab myself. This has lifted my spirits. I shall now not go and sob in a corner!

    • So maybe now isn’t the time to say I had a leisurely morning, laying in bed, reading the e-proof and giggling to myself? Anyway, glad to be of help – I shall certainly be recommending this to all the ladies on my Weight-Watchers menopause matters discussion board…..

      • Thank you again, Jane. You may like to know that Grumpy Old menopause is now available to pre-order and a website to support the book also called Grumpy Old menopause will be going up next month. Hope you can come and visit. (Your review will be there and a link back here!)

Leave a Reply

